Reader’s Advisory: Can’t Sit Still

IMG_0821

These books are not new. I am not breaking new ground by telling you that children like Sandra Boynton or Al Perkins. What I am here to say is – I have an insanely precocious 20 month old. He doesn’t sit still. He moves so much I WISH he liked the television because if he sat still for five seconds then perhaps I could get a little bit of work done. The books that I want to mention today have ACTUALLY WON HIS ATTENTION. He sits still for them. He brings them to me. He wants me to read them to him.

The first and his absolute favorite is Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb by Al Perkins. This book has been a favorite in my family since I was a child. My mother introduced it to me and I read it often to my daughter. Once my son heard the unbelieveably catchy line, “Dum ditty dum ditty dum dum dum,” he was hooked. He loves music and this book has just enough rhyme, rhythm, and monkey fun that he will sit in my lap while I read it three times through. The first time it happened I was blown away. I’ve tried so hard to catch his attention with books because my daughter was so receptive at an early age, and this book did it. Thanks, Al.

The other two books, The Bellybutton Book and The Going to Bed Book by Sarah Boynton are not as completely sit-still inducing but they do grab his attention. Her friendly animals, the reference to body parts (hello – bellybuttons are our favorite!) and the entire bedtime routine is something that makes him listen to the story and enjoy when something new happens. I have a few others of Boynton’s that I’m going to try next to see if it is the general pattern of Boynton’s books or perhaps it’s the subject matter. Either way, I’m happy he’s interested.

Leave a Reply

